Town of Conception Bay South Celebrates Top Contenders in Sports Community

March 4, 2019

Another series of outstanding athletes, coaches and sports community builders has been recognized by the Town of Conception Bay South. Tonight, seven people were honoured at the Manuels River Hibernia Interpretation Centre during the Annual Athlete and Coach of the Year and Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

“On behalf of Council, I would like to acknowledge the achievements of our extraordinary athletes and coaches. You have served our community well – laying the foundation for sporting success, leading the way for our youth to thrive in recreation, and fulfilling your own ambitious.

“We receive a large number of nominations each year, so to even be nominated for one for of these prestigious awards is an accomplishment in itself. It demonstrates a hard work ethic, passion, drive, and a fervor to go above and beyond. I would like to thank every individual nominated for their many important contributions to our community,” said Mayor Terry French.

Winners of the 2018 Athletes of the Year:

Junior Male – Keegan Stuckless
Junior Female – Lauren Rowe
Senior Male – Zachary Gosse
Senior Female – Hayley Dalton

Winner of the 2018 Coach of the Year:

Kyle Strong

2018 Inductees into the Sports Hall of Fame:

Marion Ann Haines
The late Reuben Eugene Warford

The Town would like to thank event sponsors, CUPE Local 3034 and Avalon Vending, as well as the selection committees and all those who took the time to nominate a noteworthy individual.